Immutability – God does not change

Last week in class we talked about God being immutable.  We looked at these scriptures that gave us a foundation for God’s immutability: Ps. 102:25–27; Num. 23:19; 1 Sam. 15:29; Heb. 13:8; Ex. 3:14

Questions to think about for this Tuesday in class, but feel free to comment here.

  1. Do you agree with the assertion that immutability is an essential attribute that
    is a corollary of eternality? Explain.
  2. In what way does God’s immutability trouble you?
  3. In what way does it comfort you?
  4. How does the doctrine of God’s immutability help you to trust God more for
    things that He has promised? Give examples.
2 thoughts on “Immutability – God does not change

  1. 1. I agree, if God is not eternal we have problems!
    2. it only troubles me when I’m in sin.
    3. that his promise is forever. I can depend on it. I can build my life around it. and I know it will not be in vain.
    4. the fact that he has pre-pared a place for me in eternity. I have a reason to run the race. a goal that I can keep pressing towards. I also feel like a coach. helping other’s to run the race.

  2. I agree in the immutability of God. For God to change, there has to be a beginning and an end. Since God is transendent, he is above time and not constrain by it. Therefore, God does not change.

    God’s immutability does not trouble me because He is the only constant in a ever expanding universe.

    I am comforted because He is my rock and my salvation.

    Since God stands firm on His promises I am assured that I am saved through His grace. That is why I keep moving forward, so I can let others know that God love them.

Leave a Reply

