New Books

Well I did it again and went out and purchased some more books.

God’s Empowering Presence:
The Holy Spirit in the Letters of Paul
By Gordon D. Fee

Amazon Sales Rank: #88339 in Books
Published on: 1994-07-01
Original language: English
Number of items: 1
Binding: Hardcover
992 pages

The First Epistle to the Corinthians
(The New International Commentary on the New Testament)

By Gordon Fee

Amazon Sales Rank: #88339 in Books
Published on: 1994-07-01
Original language: English
Number of items: 1
Binding: Hardcover
992 pages

The Holy Spirit:
A Pentecostal Perspective

By Anthony D. Palma

Amazon Sales Rank: #73448 in Books
Published on: 2001-08
Original language: English
Number of items: 1
Binding: Hardcover
303 pages

This was a gift by my friend Jerome Weymouth.

I am doing a whole new study on the Holy Spirit and the Charismata.  I am also reading the following books from non-Pentecostal/Charismatics “The Holy Spirit Contours of Christian Theology By Sinclair B. Ferguson”, and “He Who Gives Life: The Doctrine of the Holy Spirit by Graham A. Cole”
7 thoughts on “New Books

  1. Hey Sam, good to hear from you. That one is the smallest of the three. For being a pentecostal I am not at all familiar with Pentecostal theologians. But the blogosphere has been helping me with that.

  2. I’m jealous. I want that book by Fee, as well as 1 Cor. in the same series. I have them both on Logos, but I’d like paper copies to actually read through.

  3. Way to go. Great books. I was just thinking today about how deprived I am for not having Fee’s commentary on 1 Corinthians. Now if I could just get some money…

  4. Robert: Congrats! New books are always fun. I hear the same things Sam heard about Palma’s book. Fee on 1Corinthians is good but there’s plenty to disagree with in there as well. Have fun finding it! 😉

  5. Nathan, I really love books. I have a good amount of books on PDF but I just can’t take long hours of reading on line. They are great for quoting (cut/paste), and maybe rereading, or referencing, but for engaged reading I just have a hard time.

    RT, I have put off purchasing Fee commentary on 1 Cor. for years now, but “In Christ Books” was having a sale I was able to get it for less than what Amazon has it for, and definitely less than what Christianbooks.com

    Nick, I already found one thing that I disagree with Fee, “God’s Empowering Presence” but that’s the fun part. I really enjoy the process of why I disagree, and reconsidering the different position being presented.

Leave a Reply

