Learning more on the Trinity – New Books!

In my quest in studying the humanity of Christ I ran into a lot more questions, and also new terminology that I was not acquainted with.  I have done studies in the Trinity, & Christology, but I must confess that they have not been in-depth studies.  The most I had ever read on the Trinity or Christology had been from Wayne Grudem’s book Systematic Theology, and other introductory Systematic Theology books.  Honestly if that is all one ever understands about the Trinity, they are far more ahead than most Christians.

This is my first time really digging deep into into these subjects, and I am having a great time in the process.  In addition to Gordon Fee’s Christology, I am adding the following books to my study on the topic.

Jesus in Trinitarian Perspective: An Introductory Christology
By Scott Horrell, Donald Fairbairn, Garrett DeWeese, Bruce Ware

Product Details

Amazon Sales Rank: #495892 in Books
Published on: 2007-10-01
Original language: English
Number of items: 1
Binding: Paperback
244 pages

Read Nick Norelli’s review on this book

The Person of Christ
(Contours of Christian Theology)
By Donald MacLeod

Product Details

Amazon Sales Rank: #321080 in Books
Published on: 1998-12
Original language: English
Number of items: 1
Binding: Paperback
303 pages

The God Who Is Triune: Revisioning the Christian Doctrine of God
By Allan Coppedge

Product Details

Amazon Sales Rank: #134091 in Books
Published on: 2007-10-30
Original language: English
Number of items: 1
Binding: Paperback
345 pages

Read Nick Norelli’s review on this book

6 thoughts on “Learning more on the Trinity – New Books!

  1. I don’t have the second book but I have Gerald Bray’s volume on God from the same series. I’ve been putting off reviewing that one for way too long. But I think that you’ll really get a lot of valuable info from the other two books, I know I did.

  2. Nick, Jesus in Trinitarian Perspective has been really great so far. I have not yet sunk my teeth into The God who is Triune, but have glanced over a few chapters and that looks really inviting as well. I look forward to getting home so that I can read. I think I have been neglecting my family since I got these books 😉

  3. Reformed Theology is typically code word for Calvinism, etc.

    It doesn’t have to be good or bad, I’m simply explaining that the Contours of Christan Theology series is all authored by Reformed (more or less Calvinist) theologians and or scholars.

  4. Brian,

    Right. The Christology and Trinity that I have read from Reformed theologians has been good so far. If and when they discuss God’s sovereignty I know what to look for.

    I totally get that Reformed typically = Calvinism. Just thought maybe there was something else you were alluding too 😉

Leave a Reply

