New Book – The Incarnation

For Christmas I was given a $30.00 gift card by a dear friend.  Of course I went and purchased another book.  What else would I do with it?  It will be a while before I get to reading this book, but I don’t just by books to read them right away I am building a personal reference library.  I will get to it eventually.

Incarnation: The Person and Life of Christ (Hardcover)
by Thomas F. Torrance (Author), Robert T. Walker (Editor)

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 371 pages
  • Publisher: IVP Academic (November 30, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0830828915
  • ISBN-13: 978-0830828913
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.2 x 1.6 inches

Editorial Reviews

Review
“T. F. Torrance stands as one of the finest English-speaking theologians of modern times. Here we have the nearest thing to the systematic theology he had always hoped to write. Scripturally rooted, philosophically acute and always alert to the theological issues that really matter, this book cannot fail to inspire anyone who cares about constructive Christian thought in our day.” —-Jeremy Begbie, Thomas Langford Research Professor of Theology, Duke University

Review
“Nowhere else in T. F. Torrance’s writings will you find the kind of synthesis of the entire sweep of his dogmatics as you will find in this volume and its companion volume, Atonement. Everyone concerned with constructive systematic theology in general, or with Torrance’s theology in particular, will want to acquire and read these books. They reveal the heart and soul of Torrance’s theological vision.”

5 thoughts on “New Book – The Incarnation

  1. I want to read this book too… I really do though I think he is of the reformed camp (not that that is bad in and of itself). Me thinks thou should make it the top of thy list!

  2. Nick, I have been tempted by this book every time I went to the bookstore. But I was there for other books and not in my budget. But when I got the gift card I went ahead and bought it.

    WTM, thanks for the reference links!

    Brian, yes he writes from a reform perspective, but I don’t mind that at all. My only issues with Reform Theologians is the typical issues regarding salvation and God’s sovereignty. But other than that I enjoy reading their writings, especially a theologian like Torrance. I understand that may very well be integrated in his Christology, but that’s ok I knew that when I bought the book.

Leave a Reply

