HCSB Second Edition

holman-csb-logoHCSB Second Edition is apparently available via WordSearch. For now according to them they are the only ones with the electronic copy, at least for now.  Very curious what sort of changes they have made and how soon will they make it available in other programs such as Olive Tree, and biblegateway.com

Update:

I went ahead and purchased the advertised second edition of the HCSB and the verses that I had hope were updated or at least some footnotes added were not changed at all.  That is a major disappointment.  Also I am unable to find any record anywhere of what changes were made.  Thank God I found at least one change so that I know for a fact that it has been updated.  If you have any verses or paragraphs that you would like for me to compare please post them in the comments and I will.

1 Tim 1:1-2 (HCSB) SE

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the command of God our Savior and of Christ Jesus our hope2 To Timothy, my true son in the faith.

1 Tim 1:1-2 (HCSB)

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus according to the command of God our Savior and of Christ Jesus, our hope: 2 To Timothy, my true child in the faith.

30 thoughts on “HCSB Second Edition

  1. How about ch. 2 in that same book?

    Hmm, I can’t really think of anything else off-hand that I would want to compare because I just don’t use it that often. I wonder how long until they publish the 2nd edition on paper.

  2. I hope it will spread electronically pretty quick. I hear paper versions may be another 10 months!!

    Since you offered, I have a couple and what i would hope they revised for the better.

    Psa 1:1 – “happy”
    Php 2:2 – “sharing the same feelings”

    I thought I had more, I enjoy the HCSB, but these were 2 places that always left me wanting better.

  3. MaybeToday has some comparisons dealing with Ephesians…”Looking just at Ephesians, I found that 46 out of the 155 verses in the book have changes in this revision – some of them non-trivial. That’s not counting an additional handful of verses with only punctuation changes or a conjunction added/dropped.”

  4. Pingback: HCSB, 2nd Edition text available

  5. Do the prophetic books like Isaiah continue to use “This is the Lord’s declaration” or have they changed this back to the standard “declares the Lord?”

    Thanks.

  6. Pingback: This and That | Scripture Zealot

  7. Pingback: HCSB 2nd Edition — My personal gripes « Inquiring Minds

  8. Joe, they have not changed the term “happy” in Psalms, and Philippians 2:2 remains the same. I don’t care for it either.

    Brent, I did a search on the phrase you cited but could not find it in either the 1st or 2nd edition. Can you provide a bible verse and I would be more than happy to look it up.

  9. Is the Flood still a Deluge? And “this is the Lord’s declaration” is another place that doesn’t read quite as smooth as it could.

  10. John, yes they have made the change from “deluge” to “flood”. HCSBse “Understand that I am bringing a flood…” Gen 6:17 (HCSB)

    The phrase “⌊This is⌋ the declaration of the Lord
    Isaiah 17:6 (HCSB)” is still in the 2nd edition.

  11. Well, that’s a shame. They really do seem like weak renderings that should be fixed. I am glad they changed deluge to flood, that was one I forgot about.

    I noticed the change in Ephesians 1:11 which now has the more traditional rendering, I wonder if that is something to look for in the revised text, maybe more “traditional” renderings in certain places?

    Thanks for sharing. I’ll get the esword module if it ever becomes available….otherwise someone somewhere will surely have the revised text online…..maybe 🙂

  12. Joe, yes they updated Eph 1:11 with the alternate footnote that was in the 1st edition.

    HCSBse
    11 We have also received an inheritance,

    HCSB
    11 In Him we were also made His inheritance,

  13. Well, as to the Psalm 1:1 use of “happy” it does fit, the hebrew is ashare and referes to “happy or fortunate,” though most are uses to “blessed” these are all ways of saying the same thing – I used to have a similar problem as the NRSV does that I looked it up and saw that Happy was an appropriate translation/gloss.

  14. Brian, for the most part the issues I have are appropriate methods of translating and the “blessed – happy” one is really a minor one. But the tongues issues does bug me. Why don’t they just add a footnote? Is that asking to much?

    I think they go to far with their choice of not translating or at least adding footnotes in various passages where “brothers” clearly imply “brothers and sisters”. Overall I still like the HCSB.

  15. I can live with happy, as it seems I have little choice, but the way we use happy today, and how we understand what happy means today is not what it is talking about. Still my main translation.

  16. Joe, those are my sentiments as well.

    Billy, yes they did modify Malachi 2:16

    Mal 2:16 HCSB 2nd Edition
    16 “If he hates and divorces ⌊his wife⌋, ” says the Lord God of Israel, “he covers his garment with injustice,” says the Lord of Hosts. Therefore, watch yourselves carefully, and do not act treacherously.

    Mal 2:16 HCSB
    16 “I hate divorce,” says the LORD God of Israel, “and I hate it when people clothe themselves with injustice,” says the LORD Almighty.
    So be on your guard, and do not be unfaithful.

  17. Can you check for me Isaiah 31:9? The first HCSB edition reads-

    His rock will pass away because of fear, and his officers will be afraid because of the signal flag. |This is| the LORD’S declaration—whose fire is in Zion and whose furnace is in Jerusalem.

    I hate “This is the Lord’s declaration.” I hope they have changed these back to “declares the Lord.”

    “This is the Lord’s declaration” has no force. It is too passive.

  18. Isaiah 31:9 (HCSB 2nd Edition)
    9 His rock will pass away because of fear,and his officers will be afraid because of the signal flag ⌊This is⌋ the Lord’s declaration—whose fire is in Zion and whose furnace is in Jerusalem

    It appears unchanged. The usage of the phrase “⌊This is⌋ the Lord’s declaration” appears in tacked and they have made no changes to this.

  19. Ephesians 2:2 – “atmospheric domain” has been changed to “the lower heavens”. Overall, I think the revisions are remarkably positive. Being a candidate for the Anglican clergy (REC) this translation has become my personal study/reading Bible. Trustworthy and clear. Those are the two criteria I look for in a translation.

  20. Scott, for what I have been reading they do appear to be overall positive. I read a change the other day that I did not like, they just should have left it alone. They had it right the first time, but overall they seem good.

  21. Thanks, Robert. I am very disappointed the HCSB did not fix this. There will have to be some other compelling reason to get me to purchase the revised HCSB then.

  22. Thanks for your answer.
    So you’re telling me that not only Colossians 3 still goes like this,

    Col 3:1 So if you have been raised with the Messiah, seek what is above, where the Messiah is, seated at the right hand of God.
    Col 3:2 Set your minds on what is above, not on what is on the earth.
    Col 3:3 For you have died, and your life is hidden with the Messiah in God.
    Col 3:4 When the Messiah, who is your life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory.

    but they have turned even more “Christ” places into the “Messiah”?! Oh, no, well, I’m afraid HCSB is out of question as my main translation. I’ll move to NRSV then (I’m using NKJV now)…

  23. Try the TNIV, that’s what I am reading/reviewing this year.

    I would rather stick with the HCSB than the NKJV — but that is just my opinion. 🙂

    Col 3:1-4
    1 So if you have been raised with the •Messiah, seek what is above, where the Messiah is, seated at the right hand of God. 2 Set your minds on what is above, not on what is on the earth. 3 For you have died, and your life is hidden with the Messiah in God. 4 When the Messiah, who is your life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory. (HCSB 2nd edition)

  24. The Colossians 3:1-4 section bothers me as well, although I believe I better understand now why they have done it. The HCSB translates Christ as Messiah whenever it is (1) used in a Jewish context, OR (2) used as a title or function rather than a name. In this case, there seems to be a hidden “the” attached to Christ in the Greek in each occurance that doesn’t show up in most any modern translation. They just translate it as the name, “Christ.” Yet it seems to be using Christ as a title or function and not as a name here.

    I would rather just say “Christ” here as well. It’s easier, it rolls off the tongue more smoothly, and it keeps consistency with the rest of the letter, and I am still not fully sure why the original needed to add the “the” to specify Jesus’ title or function rather than his name here anyway. But at least this makes more sense about the many places where the HCSB uses “Messiah” when the Jewish context is not really apparent. I guess they wanted to be consistent in their own way, or they felt that translating it as “the Christ” was either weird sounding or still lost on modern readers as a function or title rather than a last name. If my assumptions are true, then in a way, the HCSB (and ISV as well) might have a slightly more accurate version than the others – unless you prefer the most accurate, “the Christ.”

    I still feel like I can alter it on the fly and just say “Christ” whenever needed. I’m sure we all do that with certain pet-peeve passages in most any translation at some point. The HCSB still has some quirks, but I love it too much at this time to get rid of it for these reasons – although “This is the Lord’s declaration” still challenges me… even if it turns out to be more accurate or not. Still researching that one…

    I find it funny that the HCSB uses Yahweh where other translations are switching God’s name for a title, and they use Messiah where others are switching Jesus’ title for a name! Kind of funny, at least…

  25. Job 42:1 is radically different between the two editions. The second edition relegates to a footnote a reference to God that completely seems to change the meaning of the verse. WHY?

Leave a Reply

