Review – TNIV Reference Bible Renaissance

Product Details

  • Leather Bound: 1408 pages
  • Publisher: Zondervan (December 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310941261
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310941262
  • Product Dimensions: 10.3 x 7.3 x 1.9 inches

I received this bible as a gift from my wife (Becky).  Thanks for this wonderful bible.

There have been various reviews written about this particular edition of the TNIV bible so I don’t want to be redundant and I am not writing on the pros/cons of this translation.  However there are somethings that I would like to point out mostly positive.  I am also including various photos to help with the descriptions and assist those that my consider purchasing this bible.  At a price tag of $62.99 at Amazon you can’t go wrong.  I also do enjoy collecting fine bibles and this now my 3rd one that I own.

I wanted this bible primarily to read from for the following reasons:

  1. Single column
  2. Reference
  3. Fine Black Supple Leather (not calfskin) very soft and flexible
  4. Sewn stitching

This bible is sort of Old World Craftsmanship with New World look to it.  I say that because it does not have the traditional leveled up dividers on the outside of the binding it is perfectly smooth, which now a days are only done for cosmetic purposes anyhow.  There is a proper term for this but I just cannot recall what it is.  Also they went with a sliver edging on the papers and the cover printing is also done with sliver and uses a modern looking font.  The leather cover has a double stitching all around which I am sure adds to the build quality, and it also looks really nice.

I am not sure if I like the choice of font that they have chosen for this bible.  Also it feels a bit small for a bible of this size, and it also feels like the sentences are a bit close together making it a bit difficult to read.  I think/hope over time I will get use to it.  This is the only negative thing that I have encountered so far.

Some pleasant surprises that I found were the Topical Ties that are at the bottom of each page if appropriate.  Also where verses or what appears sections are similar like in the Gospels they added some additional references sort of a harmony of the gospels sort of thing.  I thought this was only found in the Gospels, however I also noticed them in the Psalms.  I suppose that where ever there are similar passages you will see these references.

The other thing that is nice is that it is a Single column (fine) black letter edition bible.  The single column layout that is being used as best as I can tell is the exact same layout that is used in the TNIV The Books of The Bible (TBoTB), with the exception that chapters, verses, and translator headings were added to this edition.  The  books are presented with the literary divisions that their authors have indicated.  The advantage here is, if you ignore the chapters & verses it allows you to read it in the same manner of the TBoTB.   To quote TBoTB “single-column setting that clearly and naturally presents the literary forms of the Bible’s books”

This bible does come with two ribbons, and they are nice and long and seem to be a tad wider than the usual ones.  It also contains a Dictionary of TNIV Terms which may be useful if you come across some words you may not be familiar with such as Asherah Poles, Calamus, or Dugongs.

13 thoughts on “Review – TNIV Reference Bible Renaissance

  1. Nick, once you spend the money on one fine leather bible it becomes an addiction. There was a time when I thought $30.00 was way to much. I did not own a leather bible until I was 34 years old and it cost me around $25 bucks. It was not a fine leather bible either, but it was a trim line genuine cowhide nice texture matte finish NKJV. I really liked it.

    Don’t care for the TNIV? It is slowing growing on me. You have to give a chance and do some comparisons with other translations. There are some areas especially Holy Spirit related passages that it just shines.

    For example 1 Thes. 5:19-21
    19 Do not put out the Spirit’s fire. 20 Do not treat prophecies with contempt 21 but test them all; hold on to what is good,

  2. Nathan, I worked as a photographer for a few years and I have some good pro equipment. I used the Canon 40D with the 70-105 F4.0 L lens. No flash all natural lighting.

    SD, that is my plan as well to read through and teach from as well for 2009. They do have other edition way less but if you like to hold nice bibles while you read this is the one.

  3. Jeff, I’ll be reading this translation for 2009 so I’ll see if I jump ship from the HCSB as being my primary bible. One observation that I have made regarding the TNIV from the HCSB is there are these nice subtle differences that I like about the TNIV over the HCSB. Although they are not vastly different. When I read and I do truly enjoy the NLT that one does have a completely different feel to it.

    I plan to also read as much as I can of the NLT as I really find myself thinking when I read it, oh that was much more clear.

  4. Good review Robert – glad you were able to get one, I think you’re going to like it! How you like it’s flexibity? It takes some getting used to but I have never owned an edition of the Bible like this before so it’s been quite an experience.

  5. Brain, I own two other fine leather bibles and yes I love them all! This is how a bible should feel. It does motivate me to want to read more as it is just a wonderful experience to hold. All my life I only had one leather bible, the rest were all hardbacks. I just could not afford to spend the money on the luxurious bibles like this. But now I am a bit blessed so I don’t mind. Plus they are addicting.

  6. I hope I am not too much of a brain!

    I do agree that once a person settles on a translation he or she like to read and feels comfortable with, bit it the TNIV, NASU, HCSB, NLT, NRSV, etc, then he or she might want to consider saving some money and invest in a good leather Bible such as the calfskins or cowhides with sewn bindings and such.

  7. Brian, I don’t know how many times I make that mistake good lord 🙂 But you are a rather brainy person 🙂

    You left out the ESV 😉 I agree if you can afford it or save your money these fine made bibles are totally worth the investment. They will last a lifetime.

  8. Pingback: NIV Fine Leather Bible « Inquiring Minds

Leave a Reply

