New Books

Just got the following books:

God in Dispute, by Roger Olson
God in Dispute imagines a series of dialogues and debates among key figures throughout church history.”  Thought it would be an interesting and fun way to learn more about these great theologians from the past.

Paul for Everyone: The Pastoral Letters : 1 and 2 Timothy and Titus, by N.T. Wright
Trying to find some small and interesting commentaries, and I hardly own anything by N.T. Wright.

Paul’s Letter to the Philippians, by Gordon D. Fee
Gordon Fee – Nuff said…

Introducing Christian Doctrine, by Millard J. Erickson
Reviewing as a possible alternative to Wayne Grudem’s ST

Christian Doctrine in Global Perspective:
Thanks to Bryan for the recommendation of Ivan Satyavrata’s book

That’s all folks!

9 thoughts on “New Books

  1. I’ve had Grudem’s ST for years, but have not picked up a copy of Erickson. Now that a second edition is out, I may have to bite the bullet and pick up a copy. Have you noticed any major differences in the first and second editions?

  2. I have both Grudem and Erickson, and I would lean toward Erickson in most cases. Grudem’s real strength is his skill in presenting doctrine in a straightforward, easy-to-understand way. However, at times this leads to what seems like oversimplification or surface treatment. I’ve found Erickson to be more comprehensive and sophisticated in his presentation of and argument for major doctrines. He also interacts more with current philosophical issues and their relation to Christian doctrine, which is almost totally lacking in Grudem (perhaps an extreme emphasis on sola scriptura?).

    In terms of charismata, Grudem is more Charismatic-leaning, while Erickson is apparently “open-but-cautious.” Erickson seems to hold to a benevolent agnosticism on the continuation of charismata. However, I’m not sure Grudem’s views would fully satisfy most Charismatics/Pentecostals much more than Erickson’s would.

    If I were teaching an audience with no previous exposure to theological training, I might go with Grudem simply for clarity and accessibility. But for anyone beyond that, I’d go with Erickson, hands down.

    • Tim, Grudem’s straightforward easy-to-understand ST was the main reason I kept using it. However, I am ready for a change and not going to use his book any longer. I think I am leaning on Stanley Grenz’s ST book. It’s about the same size and although maybe a bit more challenging than Grudem, I still think it will be a good ST introduction for new students. Also his position on Salvation is from an Arminian position, which is a plus for me.

  3. Robert,
    Have you checked out J. Rodman Williams’ “Renewal Theology”? It’s supposed to be written from an explicitly Charismatic perspective. I haven’t read it before – curious if you have, and if so, what your thoughts are on it.

    • Tim, I have not read it either, I was tempted to review his as well. Under my section heading Resources on the right side, just click on J. Rodman Williams, it has some of his articles, and of special interest is his other book called “A Theological Pilgrimage” which they have completely on line. I was more concerned with their position on Salvation than I was on it being from a Charismatic Position. Grenz’s is not a Calvinist so that is what was a bit more appealing. Also we use Roger Olson’s book “The Mosaic of Christian Belief”, so two work well together, they were friends with common interest.

      When I do get around to teaching on the Holy Spirit, I do have them purchase a few other books to read as well. And I do have them read sections from Foundations of Pentecostal Theology, but I think that Grenz’s book will serve as an overall general purpose ST book.

      I really appreciate your recommendations!

Leave a Reply

