More New Books

What would we do with out new books?  I was blessed the other day by a friend, and was given some cash as a gift.  All gift money is typically spent on books or bibles, unless I am saving for something specific.  Whenever I have cash for books I always spend it at my local bookstore, I need them to stay in business and for that to happen we need to buy books from them.  I purchased the following books:

The First and Second Letters to the Thessalonians (New International Commentary on the New Testament)

The First and Second Letters to the Thessalonians (NICNT)
By Gordon D. Fee – Well what can I say, I am on a journey in becoming a Fee-ologist.  Oh, and he is using the TNIV as his main text.

Philippians: The NIV Application Commentary

Philippians: The NIV Application Commentary
By Frank Thielman
I am working on a series of sermons from Philippians and this was recommended by Brian.

The Holy Trinity: In Scripture, History, Theology And Worship

The Holy Trinity: In Scripture, History, Theology And Worship
By Robert Letham

Read Nick’s review on this book. Regarding the Trinity Nick says “…to my surprise this was the best book on the subject I had ever read!”  I got lucky when I saw this book, I seem to have read his name before, more than likely at Nick’s blog.  So I bought it, it’s the paper back and for $12.00 I figure I couldn’t loose.  But I got lucky since Nick gave it such a high review.

8 thoughts on “More New Books

  1. Robert: You won’t be disappointed with Letham! Seriously one of my top 3 favorite books of all time! The only thing to note is that he makes use of previously published material that gets repeated almost verbatim at different points in the book. It’s weird at first until you realized what happened. Oh, and his discussion of Gregory Palamas, while good, could use some refinement. These are things I neglected to mention in my review. 🙂

  2. Nick, I’ll have to read this book on the side as I always juggle around 8-10 books at one given time. Right now my priority is Philippians, but I plan on teaching an on the Trinity sometime next year. This will be an advance class for those that have already taken “the Doctrine of God” course. I plan to use this book, plus “The God who is Triune” by Coppedge as my two major sources from which I will be building my lectures on.

    When I saw it I was fairly confident that you had recommended it. So I took a chance, and man I am really glad I did. Plus the price was unbeatable.

    • Brian, from what I read so far, it was what I was hoping for. It will provide ideas, and suggestions as to how Philippians would be applicable today. Of course I have my own, but it’s nice to read what others have to say.

      • Okay, for the most part I do like the series, even if it’s pretty evangelical in it’s approach (meaning instances of healing are moved to spiritual application instead of considering that supenatural healing is possible, etc – for example, Garland in his Mark commentary sees the real healing of old blind bart in that he becomes a disciple of Jesus and follows him on the way and practically passed over the supernatural healing of blindness – which is the typical evanglical approach).

Leave a Reply

