New Books

I was not expecting these books until Monday, so I was pleasantly surprised when they arrived in the mail today.  These are required reading for my class on Introduction to the Bible.

Introduction to the Bible by I. Howard Marshall

  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Regent College Publishing (March 1, 2004)
  • This is the main book, and all it’s content is required reading.

Understanding and Applying the Bible by Robertson McQuilkin

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Moody Publishers; Rev Sub edition (January 9, 1992)
  • Various chapters are required reading

Christian Theology by Millard Erickson

  • Hardcover: 1312 pages
  • Publisher: Baker Academic & Brazos Press; 2 edition (August 1, 1998)
  • Various chapters are required reading

Biblical Interpretation: Past & Present
by Gerald Bray

  • Paperback: 608 pages
  • Publisher: InterVarsity Press (June 2000)
  • Various chapters are required reading
9 thoughts on “New Books

  1. You know, I used to have McQuilkin and Erickson. The latter I got rid of along with many other systematic theologies several years ago, and the former I think must have been stolen from my storage place. Anyway, they’re both excellent — as is Bray, which I still do have. But I’ve never even seen the one by Marshall.

  2. Nick, I actually got Bray’s book a bit earlier as I was able to purchase that on at my local Christian bookstore, I try to by locally as much as I can to support them.

    Esteban, the Erickson is nicely bound as well it lays nice and flat when open. I own the condense version of it but I needed to get the complete volume so I did.

    TC, yeah pretty good from what I read, and it actually has an endorsement by Wolfhart Pannenberg.

    • Michael, there are few more books that I actually ordering 😉 The core book is Biblical Inspiration, and the others are required as well but only selective reading (whatever chapters they recommend)

Leave a Reply

