2010 I need to reengage

I was tempted to shut down the blog as I seem to have less and less time to contribute.  But I really enjoy the community of bloggers that it makes me feel sad to leave.  I am not leaving just yet, going to try and muscle my way through somehow.  I am so behind on reading other blogs that I might just have to skim, mark as read and start fresh.

Are others struggling to find time to post?  I tend to be more active in Facebook and Twitter, but they are nonsensical posts, nothing well thought out like a blog.  But I guess due to it’s nature it makes it easier to post something right away.

Anyhow for those that follow I will continue to make an effort this year to blogging.

Happy New Year!

19 thoughts on “2010 I need to reengage

  1. Time to post isn’t a problem but I’m reading a lot less blogs. I finally got my Google Reader under 100! I think I’m at 85 (10 of which are MMA blogs) and I’ll be trimming some more fat soon.

    You could always just post sermons or class notes if you’re too busy to come up with original blog material.

  2. Nick, thanks for the encouraging words. I need to cut mine way back again. I had did that then found some more and added them. But it can be overwhelming. Right now I have 966 unread posts! Some are just news type things that I can clear with no problem. But looking at the number just makes me feel like I’ll never catch up 😉

  3. Yes, I am finding less and less time for blogging. I start school again next Tuesday, so I imagine I will have even less time to blog. Like you, I have come to really appreciate and enjoy the community of bloggers and would hate to be totally disconnected from it. I especially don’t want to now that I am beginning doctoral work. I hope to be able to bounce ideas off all you guys in hopes to refine ideas and/or theses. Anyway, I look forward to your posts, regardless of their frequency!

    • Jason, just hang in there. Maybe post less but don’t quit all together. Most of you don’t realize how much you help me personally, and I am sure that others feel the same way. I know that it is difficult but you guys are the only people that I am able to engage with at a level that is both spiritually rewarding, and mentally challenging. Something that I don’t get any where else. The main blogs that I follow all have a great passion and love for Christ. That’s why I feel a great connection with you guys.

  4. It’s not necessary to blog as much as some guys do, or did (Dr. Jim West!). Don’t feel you have to write something every day or even once a week. It’s nice when you do write, though. I think that if a guy just comments on other blogs even if he isn’t writing much himself he still “keeps his foot in the door”, so to speak. It’s nice to know you’re still among us.

    I also think we all need to make judgments about what we need to read and what can be left unread. I do that all the time myself. I just don’t have time to read everything that comes along, even on my favorite blogs. That means I’ll miss something I will wish I hadn’t, from time to time. But that’s a risk one needs to take.

    It’s nice to have you among us, Robert.

    • Gary, yes in some ways I feel like I need to blog regularly, maybe not daily but at least a few times a week in order not to loose whatever followers I have 😉 But I think that pressure is self-imposed. I did intentionally drop out during the month of December. I am in the process of cleaning up my Google reader as well. I need to narrow that down to those that I enjoy reading.

      Yes I do really enjoy the friendships more than anything else.

  5. After you catch up on my blog I’d just mark them all as read and start fresh.

    There are a few things I’d like to post that I haven’t had time to yet. But if I spent less time on the net, which is something I’m really working on, then it wouldn’t be as much of a problem.

    I agree with Gary that it’s nice to ‘keep your foot in the door’ even if you’re not blogging. Then you’re still in the community about as much as if you’re blogging.

    I use FB a little more too to write stuff I wouldn’t write on the blog, ask for prayer etc.
    Jeff

    • Jeff, I have been connecting with you much more over FB. Blogging is a different genre, and I think that it requires well thought out posts, rather than just a blip here or there. That is where I think FB is better. Whatever blips I was doing here I now do on FB.

      Plus I suffer from the occasional depression, where I just don’t want to do anything. It use to happen more often, but now it rarely last more than a few days, and it also occurs lest often. I can’t really recall the last time I got depressed so that’s a good thing, and my allergies have been killing me this week. I have had a headache now for 3 days, plus the itching eyes, mild sore throat.

  6. YES! And especially since I’ve started this new grad program. Last semester, I posted mainly about what I was learning and I think it will probably be the same way this time.

    It’s not just the community that makes me stay either – I like to write and the blog really provides a great venue for that (unlike FB and Twitter). I keep it up because I long to write and this is a good way to fulfill that.

    I also do a lot of skimming and then park on the ones that grab my interest.

    • Bitsy, I do enjoy writings as well. I am just in a slump overall. Could be the post holiday blues??? Since I started school it has taken up a big part of my life. It is something that I want to complete and would not sit well with me if I quit school. I need to readjust some priorities in my life to make sure this gets done.

      Community is a big reason why I stick it out. I hope that does not sound to sad of me, but I really enjoy the time spent with some of my blogging friends. Plus I do learn so much from you all.

  7. Robert, I love the community too. Poor Ron doesn’t know the difference between some of the folks I know in real time and some of the ones I know online 😉 AND I really feel fortunate to have made the online friends that I have.

    One of the things I love about that community is that we can slip in and out according to where we are. I’ve got some old friends that are like that. We may not talk for ages, but when we do, it’s like no time has passed.

    Slumps do seem to go on forever. It seems (stretching my poor old brain) that by the time I’m really feeling the slump, I’m about ready to come out of it. Maybe that’s where you are.

    • Bitsy, it’s funny that you mention Ron not knowing the difference between your online friends and real life friends, my wife can’t tell the difference either. She gets them confused, especially when I refer to them as my friends. I have to explain that I never really met them but we correspond over blogs a lot.

  8. My friend,
    Just post when you can. Most of us will still be here.

    And don’t forget the HCSB revision is due Spring/Summer. I need the interaction on the matter. 😀

  9. I know the feeling. I haven’t given serious thought to shutting mine down, although the thought did very briefly enter my brain this past week, but time is definitely an issue. Just blog as you are able to, pressure free. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

