Late Wars I don’t really care but…

The way I see it is that these guys all make a lot of money, so it’s not like I feel sorry for them losing their jobs.  They will be fine at least financially.  But what does bother me is Jay’s willingness to regain control of his show after making this statement 5 years ago:

”In 2009, I’ll be 59 years-old and will have had this dream job for 17 years,” Leno said in a statement. ”When I signed my new contract, I felt that the timing was right to plan for my successor, and there is no one more qualified than Conan. Plus, I promised [my wife] Mavis I would take her out for dinner before I turned 60.”

The article also stated “By sewing up the succession issue five years in advance, NBC will avoid a replay of that messy scenario.” – EW.com Jay Walking

Which I seem to recall it was something along these lines that Jay also said “…wanting to avoid the mess with Letterman”.  I would love to find the video on the night he announced his retirement, but I have not been able to find it.  But I do remember Jay stating that, and I even remember telling my wife good for him, he realized that the way it turned out was terrible and he learned from his mistake.

Now I just think Jay is a liar, selfish, and has his hand in this more than he wishes to lead us on to.  I will never watch Jay again, and I think he has tarnished his reputation and is showing his true colors.  Which by the way I did watch the Jay Leno show the first week, it was boring and not at all interesting.  After that I never watched it again.

Anyhow, this isn’t important what is important is that we help out and show Christian charity by donating to any of the non profit organizations that are helping out with this tragic circumstance in Haiti.   Here are a few ways that you can donate to:

5 thoughts on “Late Wars I don’t really care but…

  1. I’m not quite sure what you’re getting at here. Is it that Leno said he’d retire and then didn’t? I’m not sure why the charities are there either. I must have missed something. Let me know. I can be dull so it’s probably just me.

    I have noticed he’s introduced some awful(er) smut to his show from the little I’ve seen. The guy who was the ‘other’ guy on the Man Show, a comedian who’s pretty dirty etc. He’s introduced a couple of interesting things but I really thought he was a ‘cleaner’ guy than that.
    Jeff

    • Jeff, maybe I should have title it “Ramblings…”. My only point is Jay retired, and handed the show over to Conan. He should have retired like Carson did, but instead he went along and took a show at 10pm, and now that the show is failing miserably they want to give him his old show back. The way Jay is playing it off as if he has nothing to do with and he is just a victim.

      This is taking up a great deal of news headlines and bloggers are having a big say on this, which is really not that important news. What is important news is what is happening in Haiti’s, and that is something we should be more concerned about.

      If that does not clarify for you I’m sorry, I am just rambling about things that bug me.

      • I watch Conan at night, or the next day (I record it). It’s the only reason why it has been of interest to me. But if watch some news or just Google “Jay Leno” you will see just how much attention this is getting. This post will only make sense if you have at all been following the NBC Fiasco they call Late Night TV.

  2. I’m surprised I hadn’t heard any of this. Now I understand. Thanks. This is just some wild stuff as Johnny used to say.

    I thought it was strange that after he said he retired he was doing another show. Then when that show came on it was almost the same as the other one!
    Jeff

Leave a comment