Integrity and why it matters

I recently preached a sermon where I dealt with the issue of integrity and really had to dig deep and do some personal soul searching.  I’ll admit my life has been a series of ups and downs, and a real challenge taming the old nature.  Most of my personal difficulties where dealt with before I became a pastor, which I think is how it should be.  Not saying I am perfect but I really do live a pretty simple trustworthy life.

If you are struggling with any sort of sin and want to be a pastor someday, or enter into any sort of ministry you better deal with it now and make yourself accountable to a solid spiritual person or even your pastor.  We have way to many people that enter into ministry that lack personal integrity.  As I think of the way people at my church see me they expect me to live my life in a manner that is worthy of the gospel.  That is something that I don’t take very lightly.  Not only is God aware of my thoughts and actions but I also hold a responsibility to those I serve who are incapable of knowing what I do when I’m alone.

I guess in some ways I am a bit tired of hearing of pastors that just seem to lack some plain old fashion integrity.  We can all put on a show and pretend to be something we are not, but why?  Why fake it?  If what you live for is simply the status and social standing you get out of the position you hold then I think you have lost complete sight of your relationship with God.  I try not to take myself so serious and simply see myself as a person here to serve others.   As I get older my highest aim in life is to please God.  My constant prayer is God forgive my youthful sins, and make my life count.  Help me to live my life in such a way that pleases you and serves your people with integrity.

Integrity matters because it reveals our true character and who we really are, and not what we pretend to be.

Leave a Reply

